Ensuring Southern Nevada preschoolers have access to a quality education through  

$4,297,510 in scholarships  

United Way of Southern Nevada (UWSN) has selected 19 early education centers with over 30 classrooms to receive $4,297,510 in scholarships to help local families enroll their children in preschool for free or at a reduced cost. Since 2018, the Nevada Department of Education and United Way of Southern Nevada have helped over 2,000 students get the education they deserve through the Nevada Ready! State Pre-K program.  

“We have seen the lives of thousands of working families positively changed through access to affordable, high-quality early education,” said Julie Houchins, UWSN Senior Director of Early Education. “We believe that every child in our community deserves the opportunity to succeed in school, and this program ensures teachers have the necessary resources to support their students.”   

To expand access to high-quality early education across the state, UWSN is working in collaboration with the Nevada Department of Education and United Way of Northern Nevada and the Sierra to develop a similar Pre-K program to support rural communities in northern Nevada. Further program information will become available in the coming months. 

The early education centers below have been selected to receive funding to provide scholarships for preschool and pre-k enrollment in Southern Nevada:   

Acelero Head Start - Henderson Learning Center 

180 N. Westminster Way 

Henderson, NV 89015 

Director: Kelly Anderson 

kanderson@acelero.net  

P (702) 566-1048 

Acelero Head Start - MLK Development Center 

1555 W. Carey Avenue 

North Las Vegas, NV 89032 

Director: LaTasha McCall 

lmccall@acelero.net  

P (702) 642-0451 

 

Acelero Head Start - Reach Out Center 

1522 Pinto Lane 

Las Vegas, NV 89106 

Director: Theresa Vadala 

tvadala@acelero.net  

P (702) 382-7337 

 

Acelero Learning - Strong Start at Lorenzi 

700 Twin Lakes 

Las Vegas, NV 89107 

Director: Laura Brown 

lbrown@acelero.net 

P (702) 538-8700 

 

Acelero Learning- Strong Start at Wardelle  

2950 E. Bonanza Road 

Las Vegas, NV  89101 

Director: Jennifer Hines 

jhines@acelero.net   

Director:  Nora Jimenez 

Njimenez@acelero.net  

P (702) 438-0044 

 

Angels Christian Academy 

2720 Crystal Water Way 

Las Vegas, NV 89117 

Director: Maria Ginelsa 

Maria@angelschristianacademy.com  

P (702) 270-2141 

 

Bring'em Young Academy 

3980 W. Ann Road #110 

North Las Vegas, NV 89031 

Director: Marisol Wilson 

bringemyoungacademy@gmail.com 

P (702) 395-0883 

  

Christ Kids Child Center 

111 N. Torrey Pines Drive 

Las Vegas, NV 89107 

Director: Annie Phillips 

Annie@christlutheranlv.org  

P (702) 878-1176 

 

Children’s Learn and Play 

1934 S. Walnut Road  

Las Vegas, NV 89104  

Director: Kelley Dieterich  

Director@childrenslearnandplay.com 

P (702)722-1111 

 

CSN/ECE Lab  

3200 E. Cheyenne Avenue  

North Las Vegas, NV 89030 

Director: Michael Mitchell 

Michael.Mitchell@CSN.EDU  

P (702) 892-2350   

 

Discovery Gardens Child Care 

555 Page Street 

Las Vegas, NV 89110 

Contact: Christine Candelaria 

Christine@discoverygardenschildcare.com  

P (725) 400-8815 

 

Henderson Christian Academy 

2750 Robindale Road 

Henderson, NV 89074 

Director: Jaime Bucholz 

jaime@hendersonchristianacademy.com 

P (702) 270-2595 

 

Kids First Neighborhood Childcare 

5245 E. Bonanza Road 

Las Vegas, NV 89110 

Director: Ashlee Naehu 

kidsfirstlv@aol.com  

P (702) 531-1977 

 

Little Steps Early Learning 

4220 W. Craig #110 

North Las Vegas, NV  89032 

Director: Kimber Wright 

Littlestepsela@intouchcc.org  

702-827-0432 

  

New Horizons Preschool 

6701 W. Charleston Blvd. 

Las Vegas, NV 89146 

Director: Gina Sferra  

P (702) 876-1181 

ginas@nhalv.org  

  

Sunrise Children’s Foundation – West  

614 Jefferson Street 

Las Vegas, NV 89106 

Director: Trina Bilich  

trinab@sunrisechildren.org  

P (702) 880-7594 

 

University United Methodist Child Development Center 

4412 S. Maryland Parkway 

Las Vegas, NV 89119 

Director: Chelsie Shurtleff 

cdcdir@universityumc.org  

P (702) 733-7157 

 

YMCA - Heinrich 

4141 Meadows Lane 

Las Vegas, NV 89107 

Director: Danielle Donoho  

P (702) 877-9622 

ddonoho@lasvegasymca.org  

  

YMCA - Durango Hills 

3521 N. Durango Dr. 

Las Vegas, NV 89129 

Director: Renata Rorie  

Estegall@lasvegasymca.org  

P (702) 240-9622 

Scholarships have been issued through qualified centers to families in need based on childcare center recommendations and referrals. All centers participate in the Quality Rating Improvement Systems (QRIS) created by the Nevada Department of Education. 

 

 

United Way of Southern Nevada Provides Free Early Education To Hundreds of Local Families